If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the greater Albuquerque area, you will likely face criminal charges, but which ones?
There are a number of possible charges for DWI, each carrying a different set of penalties, and each with different DWI defense strategies.
Simon A. Kubiak, Attorneys at Law, PC has experience fighting all types of DWI charges and will find the best strategy for your situation.
Types of DWI Charges
DWI/DUI laws are outlined in New Mexico Statutes § 66-8-102. This section of code outlines different types of DWI charges:
(short name: DUI, used interchangeably with DWI)
DWI charges are formally made during an arraignment, a hearing scheduled after your DWI arrest. However, your arrest alone constitutes a traffic violation, and that results in the automatic revocation of your New Mexico driver’s license by the MVD. So, you will need to request an administrative hearing with the MVD regardless of whether or not you were formally charged with DWI.
The penalties associated with DWI charges range from a minimum of 24 hours community service and DWI school to up to 12 years in prison and mandatory court-approved substance abuse treatment.
The Best Defense against DWI Charges
The best defense against DWI charges is early DWI legal representation from Simon A. Kubiak, Attorneys at Law, PC in Albuquerque. The sooner our legal team is involved in your case, the more effectively we can:
- Defend your Constitutional rights
- Protect options available for DWI defense
The earlier we are involved, the more convenient for you, too. Our attorneys can minimize the number of conferences and hearings you need to attend, so you do not have to miss work, pay for additional child care or rearrange your schedule.
Call us to schedule your free initial consultation. We provide the personal attention (including cell phone access to your attorney) you deserve and fight hard to secure the best outcomes possible.