Even a first-time DUI conviction carries serious penalties that cost you money and time. Some can be calculated, but the damage to your reputation and other lost opportunities are hard to estimate.
To protect your rights, record and future freedoms, you may need the help of the experienced DUI defense attorneys at Simon A. Kubiak, Attorneys at Law, PC in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
Summing Up All DUI Fines and Fees
DUI laws clearly outline punitive fines for each type and class of DUI charge:
|1st offense||Minimum of $300 up to $500|
|2nd offense||Minimum of $500 up to $1,000|
|3rd offense||Minimum of $750 up to $1,000|
|4th through 7th offenses||Up to $5,000|
|8th and subsequent offenses||Up to $12,500|
These fines do not reflect the financial burden associated with other penalties, such as:
|1st offense||DWI school
|2nd and 3rd offenses||Substance abuse treatment program||$175-$395|
|Any DUI offense||MVD hearing request fee
Interlock device – installation and maintenance
What is not reflected in any DUI fine or penalty with associated out-of-pocket costs are the possible hidden costs of DUI conviction:
- Missed work
- Additional childcare expenses
- Public transportation
To sum it up, a first DUI offense may cost at least $600.00. That does not include any charges you may incur for court and/or corrections fees.
Beyond DUI Fines
Fines are only part of the consequences outlined for DUI conviction in New Mexico Statutes. Sentences may also include:
- Jail or prison time
- Community service
- Permanent license revocation
These consequences can further damage your professional reputation, future employment opportunities and possibly even your personal relationships.
The stakes are too high to face DUI charges alone.
To fight conviction and avoid the fines and penalties, call the experienced DUI defense team at Simon A. Kubiak, Attorneys at Law, PC.